Magical Colour-Mixing Goop

This is hands-down my FAVOURITE  sensory activity and it’s so unbelievably easy!  This is not your average, every day goop.  It’s MAGICAL COLOUR MIXING goop.  Ok, its’ not real magic, but it sure is a cool and magical treat for senses.  I added the colouring after making the goop and the outcome was fantastic!  We watched, amazed as the colours slowly bled together and began to mix.  We talked about the consistency of the goop and how it was hard, but still soft.  Wet, but sometimes dry.  It dips, drops, clumps, and it simply stunning as the colours slowly whirl together.

Let me break it down for you; 3 ingredients, 3 steps, 3 minutes, and you’re done.  And as if that wasn’t good enough…it gets better.  This isn’t just mixing the colours for a few minutes and it’s done.  It takes some time for the colours to mix and it looks/ feels absolutely amazing in the process.  So sit back and enjoy your coffee (hot) while your little ones engage in this amazing sensory, colour-mixing, goopy fun!

img_0208.jpg

Here’s what you will need:

  • Corn Starch (Corn flour in some parts of the world I believe)
  • Water
  • Food Colouring (I used gel here, but have used liquid with success as well)

 

Find yourself a large enough container to put your goop in.  This tray is from Loblaws this past summer, but anything will work.  First, I poured almost the entire container of cornstarch into the tray (container is 454g).  I don’t pour it all in there incase I make it too watery and want to stiffen it up a bit after (which is what happened).  Next, add about 2 cups of water, one at a time mixing as you go using a fork or spoon.  Your goop will be more stiff/liquidy depending on how much water you add.  I felt like I needed to add the rest of the cornstarch once I had it all mixed up.

IMG_0224

Now you get to add the colours!  I picked two primary colours; red and yellow.  I used gel food colouring; I just scooped some out and rubbed it onto the top of the goop.  Once I was done, I gave Emy a spoon and let him have a at it!

IMG_0231

It was so amazing! The way the colours mixed and danced when the goop was lifted and moved by the spoon.  Emy played and imagined a river, a volcano, an ocean, fire, that he was decorating a cake, and more.  And this stuff takes TIME to all mix together to form a new colour.  Which means he sat for about 30-40 minutes engaged as he excitedly observed the changes taking place.

IMG_0236

Towards the end, he asked to watch me do some mixing.  He didn’t have to ask twice, this stuff is fun for all ages!  He laughed and giggled at the swirls and twirls as I tried to get all the colours evenly mixed together into orange.

We will have to do something fun with our orange goop now….I’m thinking Halloween related.  Stay tuned 😉

IMG_0244